Future with Hope notes – Feb 2015

The Future with Hope task force held its first meeting In Saskatoon on February 10, 2015.

The task force was established by Synod council; consisting of members Cindy Hoppe (co-chair), Rev. Bob Lewis (co-chair), Cheryl Bauer Hyde, Rev. Greg Kiel, Rev. Murray Halvorson, Bishop Sid Haugen, and Joan Meyer.

The task force has been asked to form recommendations to the 2016 Saskatchewan Synod Convention around frequency of conventions, conference mandates, election of Synod Council members, and national convention delegate selection. The final recommendations will be presented to the 2018 Convention.

Task force will:

  • Review the Dream Team Final Report and view its recommendations through the Synod’s vision statement “Strengthening Faith Communities for Service”.
  • Consult across the Synod as widely as possible on next steps.

The next task force meeting will be in August 2015, following the July National Convention in Edmonton.
The task force will bring together a presentation and questions for discussion about how to move forward in “Strengthening Faith Communities for Service. ” The presentation will be made to the September Leadership Conference and the fall Conference Conventions.

The task force welcomes your questions and comments, and will provide information through the Synod bulletin, newsletter, website and other forums as available.   You are invited to respond with your thoughts ([email protected]) and hold up this process in prayer.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email