Who we are

The Saskatchewan synod is one of the five synods of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada

Our national church: The ELCIC

The ELCIC was formed, in 1986 through the merger of the former Evangelical Lutheran Church of Canada (ELCC) and Lutheran Church in America–Canada Section (LCA – CS). Check out our national church website at  www.ELCIC.ca

The ELCIC in turn is a member of the Lutheran World Federation. The LWF is a global communion of 145 churches in the Lutheran tradition, representing over 74 million Christians in 98 countries. Check out the LWF website at www.lutheranworld.org


 Synods of the ELCIC

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada functions through three major entities: nationally as the ELCIC, regionally as synods, locally as congregations and ministries.

The five synods of the ELCIC are: the Synod of British Columbia, The Synod of Alberta and the Territories, The Saskatchewan Synod, The Synod of Manitoba and NW Ontario, The Eastern Synod.



Saskatchewan Synod

The Saskatchewan Synod is comprised of congregations and ministries in the province of Saskatchewan and four congregations located in western Manitoba.

People: Our synod is made of 115 congregations comprised of about 26,000 baptized members.

Population: The population  of the province of Saskatchewan is just over 1 million.

Geography: The province of Saskatchewan alone covers some 250,000 square miles.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email