Who we are

The Saskatchewan synod is one of the five synods of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC). The ELCIC functions through three main entities:

  • Nationally as the ELCIC
  • Regionally as Synods
  • Locally as congregations and ministries

Our National church: The ELCIC

The ELCIC is the major Canadian representative of the traditions of the Lutheran reformation of the Christian church. The ELCIC was formed, in 1986 through the merger of the former Evangelical Lutheran Church of Canada (ELCC) and Lutheran Church in America–Canada Section (LCA – CS). Visit our National church website at  www.ELCIC.ca

The five synods of the ELCIC

  • Synod of British Columbia
  • The Synod of Alberta and the Territories
  • The Saskatchewan Synod
  • The Synod of Manitoba and NW Ontario
  • The Eastern Synod.

Saskatchewan Synod

The Saskatchewan Synod is comprised of congregations and ministries in the province of Saskatchewan and four congregations located in western Manitoba.

Our synod is made of 115 congregations comprised of about 26,000 baptized members and 3 ministries.


Partners in Ministry

Lutheran World Federation

The ELCIC is a member of the LWF which is a global communion of 148 churches in the Lutheran tradition, representing over 75.5 million Christians in 99 countries. Visit the LWF website at www.lutheranworld.org

Ecumenical partners

The Canadian Council of Churches (The ELCIC is a member of this Canadian ecumenical body, representing 19 church traditions.)

The World Council of Churches (The ELCIC is a member of this international fellowship of churches, now 347, in more than 120 countries in all continents from virtually all Christian traditions.)

Full communion partner in Canada

The Anglican Church of Canada

Our Lutheran church partner in the United States

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Saskatchewan Synod’s Global Companion in South America

Iglesia Evangelica Luterana Unida (IELU- United Ev. Lutheran Church of Argentina).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email